Wado Ryu in MMA?

General discussions on Wado Ryu karate and associated martial arts.
aastepper

Wado Ryu in MMA?

Post by aastepper »

Hi

https://youtu.be/2Ghjf1NsXqs

Many of you would have seen the YT video from a couple of years ago with Joe Rogan discussing a range of martial arts and Brazilian Jiu Jitsu/MMA. I may well resemble the "fat, 45 plus guy" and I can see Mr Rogan wouldn't understand Kihon Gumite given his comments in the first minute. He goes on to show more understanding but makes no reference to the very personal nature of the journey and the many benefits to be reaped along the way.

But the Wado Ryu I started learning all those years ago was/is more effective than he outlines and some of us did dip our toes into the murky waters of an early MMA scene (in London, many years ago). I understand that much of that is probably better left in the past! But now things are more "legal", is there any dojo or individuals who have fought in MMA contests, with at least a foundation in traditional Wado Ryu karate ?

There is plenty of swearing in the video so you may want to be careful regarding listeners.
S.B.
claas

Re: Wado Ryu in MMA?

Post by claas »

Hi,

I think the video generalizes traditional martial arts to a scene, where they actually have arts that are less traditional and more of the McDojo movement. I'd say a lot of the good BJJ is more traditional than a lot of the arts they are describing.

When it comes to Wado in MMA, I don't know about that and I don't know where to draw the line between Wado and competition stuff. A while ago I started the topic about Wado in Russia and it had a link to a tv-program where representatives of different styles took a match against a sports fighter. In my opinion the representative of Wado was more of a competiton karateka, even if I don't know exactly how to work these scales.