The future of Wado ryu

General discussions on Wado Ryu karate and associated martial arts.
mezusmo

The future of Wado ryu

Post by mezusmo »

Are people hopeful that Wado ryu will continue down a undiluted path in the decades to come.I know its a bit of a hypothetical question,but a important one nonetheless.Looking at the spread of Wado ryu throughout Europe and its many Wado based styles that went their own way it already seems shaky ground.Leaving those groups aside and looking at the 3 main organizations now, can people be confident in the directions that will be taken in its progression forward.The talk of internal power leaves one thinking that much has been lost(in this area) or only exists in a minute pocket leaves me wondering even more.
Martin Duffy
lmccoy

Re: The future of Wado ryu

Post by lmccoy »

I guess this might be an alright place to introduce myself. Back in 1987 I studied Wado in a makeshift dojo (wood floor in Quonset hut in Camp Lejeune). It was not the first karate I studied but it was unique and different from anything else I had seen. I have been doing Wado kata and kihon ever since, but the only thing I am actively taking lessons in now is Tai Chi. I think real karate in general not just Wado is on a decline here in the US. For example Kyokushinkai here used to be huge. Perhaps it is just an old man's belief in the good old days but I seem to remember far more dojos with serious student. What I see now are almost all child classes that do not even teach real kata. I am all for teaching children and adapting what you teach but what I see goes way to far. I don't think extiction is a problem, at least not for several generations. Lost knowlege? I doubt it, I am in awe at some of what I read on this board and honored that people on your level are willing to let me on to chat. I do however at least in the US see less chance for people to continue study in our increasingly mobile society. Anyway as one of the least knowledgable on the site I