Still plugging away

General discussions on Wado Ryu karate and associated martial arts.
majin29

Still plugging away

Post by majin29 »

Hi all. Been busy of late with the day job and a couple music projects but I haven't wavered in my Wado training. I'm studying with Rick Iosue who taught alongside Michael Ham. He's pretty hard core and continually stresses practicality in our classes- meaning full intent and proper form. He also shows us applications of the various waza we learn. I think it's terrific that we get the opportunity to see how each move works in context. Last week he had us working on shifting lunge punch. My forearms were sure sore after that class. He admitted he's more combat oriented. Personally I think it's good. Otherwise it's just a pretty dance if one doesn't develop good kime.
David Coscina
Gary

Re: Still plugging away

Post by Gary »

majin29 wrote:Last week he had us working on shifting lunge punch. My forearms were sure sore after that class.
Could you explain what this is? I'm thinking you mean tobikomizuki, but may well be wrong.

Gary
Gary Needham
Walton Wado Karate Club

清漣館双水執流英国稽古会
http://seirenkanuk.wordpress.com/
majin29

Post by majin29 »

Gary wrote:
majin29 wrote:Last week he had us working on shifting lunge punch. My forearms were sure sore after that class.
Could you explain what this is? I'm thinking you mean tobikomizuki, but may well be wrong.

Gary
Hi Gary.