Hitting Stuff

General discussions on Wado Ryu karate and associated martial arts.
omote

Hitting Stuff

Post by omote »

In our class last night, I was taking the crew through hand mitts and body shield work, when I realized, I just don't care for hitting those pads anymore. I started training in the 70's, when the boxing style heavy bag ruled, and loved pounding on those. As an adult, and very active competitor in my 20's and 30's, we had moved into the hand target and body shield realm, and I really enjoyed the thud and bang of that type workout. To send my partner flying across the room with heavy kicks was just about the most wonderful feeling.

At present though, as my technique has changed, I don't like the impact with the soft foam in those anymore. It feels like I have to make slow, incorrect technique to get that dull thud I had been accustomed to. I have a makiwara in the garden at home, that seems to be much more to my liking.

I was wondering if anyone else had come to this same end, or maybe why it's happening.
Jay Boatright
Florida, USA
AG1

Re: Hitting Stuff

Post by AG1 »

I work all three, ie. handpads, heavy bag and makiwara. Each serves a different purpose; handpads for target and reaction practice, heavy bag for power and makiwara for form and conditioning. In my view they are complimentary and while you may prefer one method over another, they need not be mutually exclusive.

Saludos.
Arturo Girona
Wado Kokusai KarateDo Renmei
Tim49

Post by Tim49 »

I found that if bags/pads are used in a teaching environment the teacher needs to have the eyes of a hawk. So much bad practice can sneak in, it all needs constant supervision, if not students will undermine their own development and undo any good habits they have been attempting to establish through kihon.

From personal experience even more damage can be done by mindless makiwara work.

Not saying don't do it, just underlining the potential downside.

Tim Shaw
Essex
UK
omote

Post by omote »