Insurance claims

General discussions on Wado Ryu karate and associated martial arts.
wadoka
Site Admin

Insurance claims

Post by wadoka »

I was wondering whether anyone has had to make an insurance claim using their policy associated with their karate licence, or a separate policy.

That's not to say that I have or about to, just curious on the scenarios. We tell students that they have to have it, but I never see the fine details of the policy.
kyudo

Re: Insurance claims

Post by kyudo »

Hi Gordon,

Some 15 years ago, when I was an instructor in a commercial dojo, the owner insisted that we (me and my fellow wado instructor) should get a license with the Dutch Karate Federation (KBN) for purpose of his insurance.
Problem, because the powers that be in the federation didn't formally endorse my sensei. Even though many of these people were his students at one time or other. Political stuff...
So we decided to take over the Federation. And we did so. Both me and my colleague became members of the board and we let in a couple more of our friends in through the back door. That was fun. But it also caused a row that led me to step down from the board only a few months later. In any case, since then no-one can accuse me of only delivering critique from the sidelines. :-)

As for insurance...
I later found out ti made no difference at all, legally speaking, whether or not I had a license from the federation.
Igor Asselbergs
http://kyudokan.nl/
wadoka
Site Admin

Post by wadoka »

Thank Igor for the reply.

What I was trying to get out was instances where the insurance policy was called up, whether it was accidentally causing injury in the dojo, at competitions and so on.
dkc

Post by dkc »

i think you will find that most student to student insurance does not cover accidents such as tripping over but only covers if your partner damages you.
This was changed a few years ago to the best of my knowledge.