Ouch! Accidents in the dojo

General discussions on Wado Ryu karate and associated martial arts.
majin29

Ouch! Accidents in the dojo

Post by majin29 »

Holy moses! I did something in class this week that I have NEVER done before- hit an instructor (of course by accident). I'm normally very very good at controlling my strikes and pulling them accordingly but for some bizarre reason I still cannot account for, whilst demonstrating Sanbon Jodan Uke (the part where you turn to avoid the third punch and pivot by blocking and doing an upper cut simultaneously), well, I got my poor sensei in the chops with the upper cut. I was mortified. I still don't know how that one got away from me. Just moments earlier, I was practicing with a class mate and performed it fine 10 times. I profusely apologized and he took it in good stride (he said at least he didn't bite his tongue) but hearing the teeth chomp together was just a little sickening. Thing is, I still pulled the punch- it wasn't full out- but I didn't pull it enough so there was some contact.

I don't know whether anyone else here has had something like this happen to them or been on the receiving side. I mean, in sparring, I've been punched in the face by a black belt (accidentally) so I know injuries might be probable but in Sanbon.....ugh. I still feel sick about it....
David Coscina
oneya

Re: Ouch! Accidents in the dojo

Post by oneya »

Don't worry, if you can hit an instructor it is his/her fault.

oneya
Reg Kear.
Wado Kokusai San no Ya.

http://www.sannoya.com
kyudo

Post by kyudo »

Oneya is right. It's the instructor's fault in the first place. When I mess up a technique while instructing (which does happen, now and again) I'm the one to apologize to the student for my sloppy technique.

In my dojo I have a simple rule: the higher rank is always responsible for accidents. Because he/she should know better. So the buck stops at the highest rank, which is the instructor.