experiences in other MA dojos

General discussions on Wado Ryu karate and associated martial arts.
kyudo

experiences in other MA dojos

Post by kyudo »

Do you have interesting experiences to share about visiting other (wado and non-wado) MA schools?

Recently, I was reminded of an incident, a long while ago, when visiting a Wing Chun school. In those days, I was a senior student in teakwondo and kickboxing. I hadn't switched to wado yet. A friend invited me for a training at a Wing Chun school.
When I came in, the sifu summoned me along with some 5 other visitors to an adjoining room for an introductory talk. Fair enough. So we sat down to listen to an explanation how Wing Chun was the best invention since sliced bread. Or something along those lines. Along the way, the sifu was dismissing all other brands of MA as inferior. I didn't buy it, and didn't hide my feelings about this 'peptalk'.
Next we entered the dojo for some warming up and exercise. When it came to sparring, the sifu put me against his most senior student. He then told me we could only use our hands. Good luck….
Next thing I knew, the senior was inches away, banging on my face with a rapid barrage of punches of his gloved hands. It wasn't very threatening, but it sure annoyed the hell out of me. It was clear that his hand techniques were far superior to mine. That is, as long as he managed to close the distance. Which he could, due to the fact that I wasn't allowed to use my feet.
After a few minutes I could feel my face going black and blue. I got real angry. So all of a sudden, I shouted STOP!. More a kiai than a shout, actually. All of the 50 or so people in the dojo immediately stopped and looked at me. Quite shocked. Even the sifu was taken by surprise. I was fuming with anger. But I controlled myself and told them that I hadn't come to get my ass whipped and this should stop. If the guy wanted to continue, then fine with me, but be warned that I would use my legs full force.